Gung Hay Fat Choy   3 comments

If the title is incorrect, take it up with wikipedia!!

Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Yes, its Chinese New Year, and this year is the year of the snake. Seems the Chinese like snakes, and people who are snakes are not all bad. However, we in the west take a different view of snakes. If I were to say Tony Blair was a snake, most people would instantly agree with me, when all I would be pointing out is he was born in 1953 the year of the snake.

Today is going to be an excuse to try cooking chinese food, although I’m the first to admit I’m not very good at it. Maybe I’ve just spent too much time in Hong Kong and Singapore to appreciate what is available in the UK, certainly I don’t go to Chinese restaurants in the UK for that reason.

Posted February 10, 2013 by bluonthemove in Uncategorized

3 responses to “Gung Hay Fat Choy

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good luck with the cooking! …clean up along the way; it’s better when you don’t have to face a messy kitchen afterwards :>)

  2. So what did you do? I have the most irritating partner who cooks rice to perfection having learned to cook for Chinese in South Wales (don’t ask!) so he always does the rice and I do the rest of it. A good Tamari is essential. Although tbh I prefer Indonesian and Thai because they are hotter.

  3. I didn’t do anything particularly special. Had prawns in chilli, garlic and ginger with a sweet chilli dip (bought in) to start with followed by duck in a spicy sweet and sour sauce. The sauce was made from Sainsburys oriental vegetables with the sour coming from soy, balsamic vinegar and chilli, the sweet from oranges and orange oil. So, not exactly authentic but the end result tasted nice.

    I’be been to Singapore many times and always enjoyed eating there. Their cuisine is quite like chinese but much hotter, with elements of Indonesia and Malaysian in there too.

Thank you for reading this post. I'd love you to comment, just please 'Play Nice'.

